Key Takeaways
- Zapier suits Australian small business owners who want to connect common apps themselves through a no-code builder, with no software installation.
- n8n suits businesses with longer workflows or a need to control hosting location, provided someone technical can build and maintain the system.
- Zapier counts successful actions as tasks, while n8n counts whole workflow runs as executions, so a workflow with five billable actions running 500 times uses 2,500 Zapier tasks or 500 n8n executions.
- As at October 2026, neither vendor publishes an AUD price list or states GST treatment on its pricing page; Zapier lists AUD as a supported billing currency.
- Self-hosted n8n Community edition has no software licence charge, but the business still pays for and maintains the server, backups, updates and repairs.
Choose Zapier if you want to connect familiar apps yourself and keep infrastructure off your job list. Choose n8n if the workflow has enough steps or volume to make execution billing attractive, or you need control over hosting. I'd make that decision around one actual workflow and who will look after it.
Which Should an Australian Small Business Choose: N8n or Zapier?
Zapier's strengths are its advertised no-code builder, free tier and broad app directory. n8n's strengths are whole-workflow billing and the option to self-host. Those differences are published on the vendors' Zapier pricing and n8n pricing pages.
If you're still mapping the job, start with workflow automation: what starts the process, what happens next and where someone needs to approve an action. Choosing software comes after that.
I checked each vendor's own pricing, help and directory pages on 9 October 2026, so prices and directory counts are as at October 2026.
| Factor | Zapier | n8n |
|---|---|---|
| Best For | Owners connecting common apps through a no-code builder. | Multi-step workflows, higher volumes or control over hosting, with technical help available. |
| Pricing As Published | Free: 100 tasks/month. Professional from US$19.99/month billed annually, with 750 tasks. Team from US$69/month billed annually, with 2,000 tasks. Successful actions count as tasks. AUD billing supported; GST not stated. | Paid plans count whole workflow executions. Business: €667/month billed annually, with 40,000 executions, self-hosted only. Community edition has no software licence charge; infrastructure costs remain. Prices in euros; GST not stated. |
| Key Features | Two-step workflows on Free; multi-step workflows and webhooks on Professional; 25 users and SAML SSO on Team. | Unlimited steps per execution, unlimited users and workflows on all plans, and a self-hosting option. |
| Integrations | More than 10,000 apps listed. | More than 2,000 integrations listed. |
| Australian Support | Not stated; online support. | Not stated; online support. |
Plan features, prices and support information come from the Zapier pricing page, n8n pricing page and n8n edition documentation. Check the connection you actually need before committing. For Australian trades, ServiceM8 lists both n8n and Zapier, so that app alone doesn't settle the choice.
How Do N8n and Zapier Pricing Compare: Executions, Tasks, Currency and GST?
The sharpest difference is the billing unit. Zapier defines a task as a successful action; triggers don't use tasks. n8n defines an execution as one run of the entire workflow, regardless of the number of steps.
Here's an arithmetic illustration derived from those definitions, not a subscription quote. Assume every action succeeds and all five actions count as Zapier tasks.
| Monthly Workload | Zapier | n8n |
|---|---|---|
| One trigger, five billable action steps, 500 runs | 5 × 500 = 2,500 tasks | 500 workflow runs = 500 executions |
That difference matters when one enquiry needs several actions. But 500 executions and 2,500 tasks aren't dollar amounts. Zapier's built-in data tools, including Filter, don't count as tasks, so count the actual actions before estimating usage.
As at October 2026, Zapier Professional starts at US$19.99/month billed annually or US$29.99 billed monthly, with 750 tasks. The published Professional tier with 10,000 tasks costs US$129/month billed annually or US$193.50 billed monthly. I'd compare the tier your workflow needs, rather than stopping at the entry price.
As at October 2026, n8n publishes prices in euros. Its Business plan is €667/month billed annually, includes 40,000 executions and requires self-hosting. That's a different buying decision from a small owner-managed connection.
Neither pricing page states GST treatment or publishes an AUD price list. Zapier lists AUD among supported billing currencies, with conversion at the payment-date rate. I'd check the checkout and invoice details before budgeting; a currency conversion doesn't establish GST treatment.
Overages also need attention. Zapier switches to pay-per-task billing above the plan limit. n8n says workflows continue running above quota, but its pricing page doesn't say what it then charges. For more detail, see Zapier pricing in Australia.
Is Self-Hosting N8n Really Free, and Who Should Do It?
n8n runs as the free Community edition without a licence key. That removes a software licence charge. The server, setup, updates, backups and fixes still need funding and an owner.
n8n recommends Cloud for people without technical expertise who don't want to manage infrastructure, and self-hosting for people with infrastructure and technical resources. Its guide makes maintenance your responsibility.
I'd self-host only when someone can restore the system, manage access and investigate failures. If that person is the owner squeezing repairs between jobs, include that workload in the decision.
n8n is source-available under its Sustainable Use License, which permits use for your own internal business purposes. Calling it unrestricted open source would miss that licence condition.
Where Is Your Data Stored, and Why Does It Matter in Australia?
As at October 2026, n8n says hosted-plan data is stored in Frankfurt, Germany. For self-hosted plans, storage location depends on where you host n8n. An Australian server or cloud region is therefore a hosting choice, not an n8n Cloud region.
I couldn't confirm from Zapier's own pages where it stores data. If location matters for client records, check Zapier's current privacy documentation and data processing agreement before connecting those records.
I'd also map where connected apps receive the data. Choosing a server location answers only part of that question. Truespeak's guide to giving AI access to your inbox and CRM covers the practical access decision.
What Does Switching from Zapier to N8n, or Back, Involve?
I'd plan a switch as a rebuild. Start with one workflow whose cost or limitations justify the work.
- Document the trigger, actions, field mappings, conditions and approvals.
- Check that the destination tool supports each required connection.
- Rebuild the workflow and re-authenticate every connected app.
- Test alongside the existing workflow, controlling outgoing actions to prevent duplicates.
- Check records and exceptions, then turn the old workflow off.
That's my migration method, not a promise of automatic transfer. If your main concern is a different no-code option, compare Zapier and Make before committing to a rebuild.
What Should You Automate Around Whichever Tool You Keep?
I used Zapier at Haus Bright, my own e-commerce business, to capture customer details. That experience sits in my Haus Bright retrospective. I care about what happens to the enquiry after capture: who follows up, what context they receive and what gets recorded.
For a service business, I'd start with enquiry response, lead follow-up, client intake, CRM upkeep or invoice reminders. Name the trigger, gather useful context, prepare the action, protect the approval step and record the outcome.
For an Australian service business that wants automation designed, built and then run around its chosen tools, with a person approving anything sensitive, Truespeak is the closest fit.
Truespeak's business process automation service includes monitoring, fixing failures, reviewing exceptions and improving rules after launch. Where a tool has no usable connection, that step stays manual. A person approves money, relationships, compliance, advice and anything uncertain.
I'd settle who owns that ongoing work before choosing software. Read custom workflow automation versus no-code tools, or start with a discovery call.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is n8n better than Zapier for an Australian small service business?
n8n suits longer workflows or a need to control hosting, provided technical help is available. Zapier suits owners who want to connect common apps themselves through a no-code builder. Compare the actual workflow and who will maintain it.
How do Zapier tasks differ from n8n executions?
Zapier counts successful actions as tasks; n8n counts whole workflow runs as executions. A workflow with five billable actions running 500 times uses 2,500 Zapier tasks or 500 n8n executions. This is a usage illustration, not a dollar comparison.
Do n8n and Zapier publish Australian prices including GST?
As at October 2026, neither pricing page publishes an AUD price list or states GST treatment. n8n publishes euro prices. Zapier publishes USD prices and supports AUD billing using the payment-date conversion rate.
Is self-hosted n8n free?
The self-hosted Community edition has no software licence charge. The business still pays for and maintains infrastructure, setup, updates, backups and repairs. n8n recommends self-hosting for people with technical and infrastructure resources.
Can n8n keep workflow data in Australia?
Self-hosted n8n stores data wherever you choose to host the installation, which could include Australia. As at October 2026, n8n Cloud stores hosted-plan data in Frankfurt, Germany. Connected apps need separate consideration.
What does moving from Zapier to n8n involve?
Plan to document and rebuild each workflow, re-authenticate connected apps, test field mappings and approvals, control duplicate outgoing actions, and then turn off the old workflow. Plan it as a rebuild of each workflow, not an automatic transfer.
Sources
Checked 8 Oct 2026.
