FIELD NOTE

DIY AI Automation or Hire an Agency? (2026)

Sonny HovsepianPublished 30 Sept 2026Updated 30 Sept 2026DIY AI Automation

Key Takeaways

  • DIY AI automation suits one simple workflow when a named person on staff can test the workflow, check failures and maintain the connections.
  • As at September 2026, Zapier Pro starts at US$19.99 a month billed annually, while n8n Cloud Starter costs about 20 euros a month billed annually.
  • Hiring an agency can mean buying a setup your team maintains, paying for a project plus ongoing management, or reserving monthly engineering capacity.
  • The OAIC recommends that organisations avoid entering personal information, particularly sensitive information, into publicly available generative AI tools, and says privacy obligations apply to personal information put into an AI system and to AI output that contains it.
  • Truespeak suits Australian service businesses that want AI automation built and kept running, with a person approving anything sensitive.

Yes, build a simple automation yourself if someone in the business will own the upkeep. Hire help when the connections, approval rules or maintenance exceed what that person can reasonably handle. The decision comes down to who builds the workflow and who answers when it stops working. This is a different question from build versus buy, which covers AI features in your existing software versus custom automation.

Updated 30 September 2026. I built Zapier automations to capture customer details in my own e-commerce business, Haus Bright. I respect DIY. I also want the maintenance job priced into the decision.

Can I Build AI Automations Without Coding, and What Do the Tools Cost?

Yes, for a suitable workflow. Start with a trigger, a clear action and a result you can check. I'd try capturing an enquiry and preparing a draft for review before giving an agent permission to deal with customers.

DIY optionPublished cost as at September 2026What to budget for
ZapierFree: 100 tasks a month. Pro: from US$19.99 a month billed annually, or US$29.99 billed monthly, at 750 tasks a month.Prices rise with task volume. Zapier Agents use a separate activities allowance.
n8n CloudStarter: about 20 euros a month billed annually for 2,500 executions. Pro: about 50 euros for 10,000 executions, on the same billing basis.An execution counts a whole workflow run, regardless of the number of steps.
n8n Community EditionFree self-hosted edition.Hosting and technical ownership. Installation, configuration and server upkeep remain someone's job.

These are published currencies, not Australian-dollar estimates. GST treatment was not stated on the pricing pages. Zapier says the actual local-currency price uses the exchange rate at payment, so the bill can move.

No coding does not mean no technical decisions. n8n recommends Cloud when you lack technical expertise. Cloud hosting removes server work; you still need to decide what your workflow should do.

What Does DIY Involve After the First Workflow Works?

The first successful run proves one case. Before relying on the workflow, I'd work through these steps:

  1. Define approval. Name the reviewer, the information they need and what happens if nobody responds.
  2. Test failures. Try missing fields, duplicate enquiries and a disconnected account. Decide who receives the alert and how work gets recovered.
  3. Limit the data. Identify which client details each step needs and where those details go.
  4. Assign upkeep. Give someone responsibility for checking failures and retesting after changes to forms, accounts or instructions.

A human gate is possible in DIY. Zapier's Request Approval action pauses a run for review. As at September 2026, it is unavailable on Free, and Pro users can send requests only to themselves. Timeout settings can end the run or skip and continue. Choose deliberately.

For customer messages or money-related steps, I'd start with a draft held for approval. Truespeak's human-in-the-loop guide explains how to make that review useful.

The OAIC's AI privacy guidance recommends against entering personal information into publicly available generative AI tools. It also addresses personal information in outputs, privacy policies and notifications, and human verification of accuracy. Hiring an agency does not settle those questions for you. This is general information, not legal advice.

What Prices and Delivery Models Do Australian Agencies Publish?

Compare the responsibility you are buying alongside the setup price. These three firms publish different arrangements.

Delivery modelPublished on its site as at September 2026What you are paying for
Automata AI: fixed setup you ownSmall business setup: $3,500 AUD fixed, about a week. Standard implementation: from $8,000 AUD, about two weeks.The small business setup includes two working workflows and training. You own the setup, playbook and workflows, with no retainer or managed-service dependency.
IOTAI: project plus monthly managementWorkflow automation projects start from $2,500. The site states delivery in 2-4 weeks. GST treatment is not stated.A scoped build, with ongoing managed service under a separate monthly retainer.
Kursol: reserved monthly capacityEx GST: $1,750 a month pilot; $6,000 a month for one feature a month; $20,000 a month for 100 hours.Reserved engineering capacity. Unused hours lapse. The pilot allows cancellation any time; the higher plans require 30 and 90 days' notice respectively.

Automata AI's setup is Claude-specific. Its page lists Claude subscriptions separately at about A$28-A$43 per user per month including GST, as at September 2026. That arrangement suits a team willing to own the setup after handover.

For a broader cost breakdown, see AI automation costs in Australia. None of these starting prices establishes the cost of your particular workflow.

How Do I Choose Between DIY, an Agency Build and a Managed Service?

I'd use this decision test:

  1. Choose DIY when the workflow is narrow, mistakes are easy to spot and reverse, and a named employee has time to maintain it.
  2. Choose an agency setup you own when you need help designing and building, but your team will handle ongoing checks and changes. Require documentation and a practical handover.
  3. Choose a managed service when you want someone outside the business responsible for monitoring, fixing failures and reviewing exceptions. Put those duties in the scope.

For an Australian service business that wants automation built and kept running, with a person approving anything sensitive, Truespeak is the best fit.

I have built 25 working systems, and through managed AI operations I work directly with clients on the build and ongoing operation. Truespeak monitors failures, reviews exceptions and improves rules. Where an existing tool has no usable connection, that step stays manual. The first step is a discovery call.

What Red Flags Should I Watch for on Either Path?

  • A demo with no failure test. Ask to see what happens when data is missing or access expires.
  • An approval step with no timeout decision. Establish whether unanswered requests stop or continue.
  • “Support included” without defined responsibilities. Ask who investigates failures and who pays for changes.
  • No exit plan. Establish who controls accounts, credentials, workflows and documentation before work starts.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I use ChatGPT agents instead?

Check the vendor's current documentation for plan limits and confirmation behaviour. Test the exact task and its failure cases before relying on an agent.

Is this the same as build versus buy?

No. Build versus buy covers existing software features versus custom automation. DIY versus agency concerns who builds and maintains the workflow.

What does it cost to find out whether DIY fits?

Start with one workflow and an agreed internal time budget. Count staff time spent testing and fixing alongside subscriptions before expanding.

What should I bring to an agency call?

Bring a real example, the tools involved, the person who approves sensitive actions and a clear answer about who should maintain the system.

Sources

Checked 29 Sept 2026.