Key Takeaways
- Fergus is worth trialling for Australian trade crews of about 1-20 wanting quoting, scheduling, job cards and invoicing together, matching Fergus's stated audience as at November 2026.
- Fergus lists Essentials from $53 and Professional from $77 per month as at November 2026; user charges, add-ons and unclear GST presentation need checking before budgeting.
- Fergus's comparison table appears to reserve job phases, checklists, forms, purchase orders, SWMS and most reporting for Professional as at November 2026.
- Fergus offers quote reminders and an Assistant with a confirmation step, but owners still need to check the work and handle exceptions.
My verdict: Fergus is worth a trial if those everyday job tasks are scattered across your business. The buying decision is usually Essentials versus Professional. This review rests on Fergus's published pricing, help centre and terms, plus Zapier and the RBA, checked on 3 November 2026. I have not tested Fergus or used customer ratings.
Is Fergus Worth It for Australian Tradies, and Who Does It Suit Best?
I'd shortlist Fergus for a crew wanting one place to quote, allocate work and invoice. Fergus publishes a customisable scheduling calendar, while customers can accept quotes through an email link without creating an account. Removing that customer login is a useful detail.
Start with the admin problem. My guide to choosing which trade admin to automate first helps separate a missing process from a missing software feature.
What Does Fergus Cost in Australia Once GST, Users, SMS and Card Fees Are Counted?
These are Fergus's published Australian prices as at 3 November 2026. Its scheduling page identifies AUD and per-user pricing. The terms mention a plan type base and say fees exclude taxes; the pricing page does not specify whether displayed figures include GST. Confirm before budgeting.
| Item | Published charge, November 2026 |
|---|---|
| Essentials / Professional | From $53 / $77 per month |
| Timesheet Users | From $26 per month |
| Contractor Users | $4 per user/day |
| SMS | $15 for 100 texts |
| Certificates | $30 for 1-9 staff; $80 for 10+ staff. Billing period unstated. |
| Visa / Mastercard payments | 1.95% + $0.30 per transaction |
Illustration only: three users at the published starting rates would cost $159 monthly on Essentials or $231 on Professional, before add-ons and any GST. Those are arithmetic examples, not quotes. Ask for the actual user mix and total; Fergus directs businesses with more than 10 staff to custom pricing.
The Fergus Pay FAQ lists Amex at 3.75% + $0.30 as at November 2026. A $1,000 Visa or Mastercard payment at the listed rate costs $19.80. The RBA says debit and credit card surcharging should end on 1 October 2026, and Fergus's FAQ reflects that change. Budget for processing costs.
What Do You Give Up on Essentials Compared with Professional?
The November 2026 comparison table appears to show:
| Capability | Essentials | Professional |
|---|---|---|
| Quoting, calendar, job cards, invoicing, Xero and MYOB connections | Listed | Listed |
| Supplier integrations | Manual | Automatic |
| Checklists, forms, job phases, tasks, purchase orders, SWMS | Appear excluded | Appear included |
| Reporting | Limited reports | Broader business and financial reports |
| Support | Email and chat | Phone, email and chat |
I'd ask Fergus to demonstrate job phases on Essentials: the help centre says activating a priced job creates a phase. Also confirm Enquiry Management. If phone support matters, get that in writing: the homepage advertises included phone support more broadly than the pricing table.
What Does Fergus Automate Natively, and What Still Needs a Person?
Quote reminders support email, SMS or both, with editable templates and customer exclusions. As at November 2026, that guide lists expiry-day reminders or 1, 5, 7, 10 or 14 days before expiry; release notes also describe reminders after publication. Test the available timings and what stops a reminder.
Invoice reminders also support email and SMS. Fergus advises disabling accounting-package reminders to prevent duplicates. My reading: date-based templates suit routine chasing; a customer's hesitation still needs someone to understand and answer it.
Fergus Assistant finds information, prepares job admin and helps create or review quotes and invoices. Fergus says Assistant acts when asked and shows confirmation before creating, changing or sending anything. That helps the person at the desk. Fergus AI is a separate beta as at November 2026, and Fergus's help article on AI does not cover pricing or usage limits.
For outside automation, Fergus publishes an API and MCP server. But the Zapier listing shows no quote-accepted or invoice-paid trigger and no add-note action as at November 2026. Confirm connections before promising a workflow. The MCP guide describes Master Admin data access, which deserves the owner's attention.
Who Should Look Elsewhere, and What Red Flags Should You Check?
I'd look elsewhere if an essential workflow fails the trial or the required plan costs more than the problem warrants. Compare the specific trade-offs in ServiceM8 versus Fergus and Fergus versus Tradify.
Published inconsistencies warrant questions: support wording, phase access and GST treatment. For home builders considering admin automation, I'd test staged work especially carefully.
What Should You Test During the 14-Day Trial Before Moving Data?
As at November 2026, the trial FAQ describes 14 days on Essentials without a credit card. Ask to test Professional features too.
- Run one representative job through quoting, acceptance, scheduling, materials and invoicing.
- Test reminders, customer replies, accounting connections and duplicate prevention.
- Get written confirmation of the plan, user mix, GST, add-ons and support.
- Check migration and export before committing. Fergus may import customers, jobs and sites depending on format; bundles cannot transfer automatically. Ask about open quotes and history.
No full export guide was found on the pages checked. The terms make you responsible for keeping your data and require fees through the cancellation month's end. Get your copy before cancelling.
For an Australian trade business needing follow-up and admin automation designed, built and run around its existing job system, with a person approving anything sensitive, Truespeak is the best fit. I have spent more than 20 years in commercial roles and have built 25 working productivity systems. I would scope lead follow-up or CRM automation around confirmed connections; unavailable steps stay manual. A discovery call is the next step if gaps remain.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Fergus worth it for a small Australian trade business?
Fergus is worth trialling for crews wanting quoting, scheduling, job cards and invoicing together. The verdict depends on whether Essentials covers the work or Professional is needed. This review uses published sources checked on 3 November 2026, without hands-on testing.
How much does Fergus cost in Australia?
As at November 2026, Fergus lists Essentials from $53 and Professional from $77 per month. User types, add-ons and the plan type base affect the quote. The terms exclude taxes, while the pricing page does not specify GST treatment for displayed prices.
Does Fergus Essentials include phone support?
As at November 2026, the pricing table lists email and chat for Essentials, and phone, email and chat for Professional. Broader homepage support wording differs, so confirm phone access in writing.
Can Fergus automatically follow up quotes?
Fergus publishes editable email and SMS quote reminders based on dates. Test the timing options and stopping behaviour during the trial; the checked articles do not establish that reminders stop automatically after acceptance.
Is Fergus Assistant the same as Fergus AI?
Fergus describes Assistant as part of the existing product, acting when asked with a confirmation step before creating, changing or sending anything. Fergus AI is a separate beta as at November 2026. Fergus's help article on AI does not cover pricing or usage limits.
Sources
Checked 2 Nov 2026.
- Fergus Australia
- Fergus Australian Pricing
- Fergus Scheduling
- Fergus Terms of Service
- Fergus Quoting
- Fergus Pay FAQs
- RBA Review of Retail Payments Regulation: Non-Technical Summary
- Activating a Quoted/Estimated Job
- Quote/Estimate Reminders
- Fergus Release Notes 2025
- Setting Up Automatic Reminders
- What Is AI at Fergus?
- Fergus Assistant
- Fergus Information
- Fergus Integrations on Zapier
- Setting Up the Fergus MCP Server with Claude
- Migrating to Fergus from Another Job Management System
