FIELD NOTE

Xero vs MYOB for Australian Service Firms (2026)

Sonny HovsepianPublished 27 Sept 2026Updated 27 Sept 2026Xero vs MYOB
Xero vs MYOB for Australian Service Firms (2026)

Key Takeaways

  • Choose Xero for a browser-first service business that wants bundled payroll: as at September 2026, Grow includes payroll for 2 people at AUD $78 per month including GST, while Ultimate 10 adds project tracking at $143 per month.
  • Choose MYOB for per-employee payroll pricing or AccountRight time billing: as at September 2026, Business Pro costs $70 per month, with payroll an extra $3 per employee per month, while AccountRight Plus costs $165 per month with unlimited payroll included; MYOB's pricing page does not state GST treatment.
  • Xero offers 24/7 online support with callbacks, while MYOB Business offers a phone line Monday to Friday, 9am-5pm AEDT/AEST, as at September 2026.
  • MYOB AccountRight Plus requires a Windows computer for setup and features including time billing, so a Mac-only practice should check that requirement before choosing AccountRight.

Choose Xero if bundled payroll, browser-based work and its app ecosystem suit your business. Choose MYOB if phone support, per-employee payroll or AccountRight's time billing matter more. I would decide around the work your team does every week, then confirm the choice with your accountant or bookkeeper.

Should an Australian Service Business Choose Xero or MYOB?

Neither ledger wins outright. My first check would be where quotes, job details and customer conversations already live. A switch needs to solve a specific problem worth the disruption.

The comparison below uses the vendors' published information as at September 2026. I checked the prices on 27 September 2026.

ComparisonXeroMYOB
Best ForBrowser-first businesses wanting bundled payroll and projects on Ultimate.Businesses wanting phone support, per-employee payroll or AccountRight time billing.
Pricing As PublishedGrow $78/month; Comprehensive $107/month; Ultimate 10 $143/month. AUD including GST, billed monthly. Pricing.Solo $99/year; Lite $315/year; Pro $70/month; AccountRight Plus $165/month. AUD, billed on the stated basis; GST treatment not stated. Pricing.
Key FeaturesQuotes, invoices and bundled payroll; multiple currencies from Comprehensive; projects on Ultimate. Plan inclusions.Quotes, invoices and payroll; job tracking on Lite and Pro; time billing and individual job budgets on AccountRight Plus and Premier; multiple currencies on Premier. Job features; plan inclusions.
Integrations1000+ apps and an open API.More than 350 apps and a MYOB Business API.
Australian SupportFree, unlimited 24/7 online support; no inbound phone helpline.Phone support Monday to Friday, 9am-5pm AEDT/AEST.

What Do Xero and MYOB Cost in 2026, and How Does Payroll Pricing Differ?

As at 27 September 2026, Xero's standard prices are Grow $78, Comprehensive $107 and Ultimate 10 $143 per month, in AUD including GST. MYOB's standard prices are Solo $99 per year, Lite $315 per year, Pro $70 per month and AccountRight Plus $165 per month. I have left out the introductory discounts both vendors were running.

MYOB's annual Lite price and monthly Pro price have different billing bases. I would confirm MYOB's GST treatment before comparing invoices.

PlanPayroll pricing as at September 2026
Xero Grow2 people included.
Xero Comprehensive5 people included.
Xero Ultimate 1010 people included.
MYOB Business Lite$3/month per employee, up to 2 employees.
MYOB Business Pro$3/month per employee, with unlimited employees.
MYOB AccountRight PlusUnlimited payroll at no extra cost.

Sources: Xero's payroll allowances and MYOB's payroll charges. Xero says additional charges may apply above included payroll, expense or project allowances. Xero's line about no per-user licence fees does not mean every extra person on payroll or extra project user is included.

Solo by MYOB is a mobile app for sole operators with one user at a time. I would leave Solo out of an employing business's shortlist. For a growing team, compare the expected payroll headcount alongside the features you need.

How Do Xero and MYOB Compare on Quotes, Invoice Reminders, Job Tracking and Payroll?

Xero Projects connects project quotes, tracked time, expenses and invoices. As at September 2026, Ultimate 10 includes project tracking for 10 users; Grow and Comprehensive do not include projects.

MYOB says its built-in job tracking keeps projects organised from first quote to final invoice, and on Lite and Pro it tracks job progress, profit and loss, and expenses. Time billing and individual job budgets sit in AccountRight Plus and Premier. That makes MYOB worth examining if basic job tracking is enough, but time billing brings the AccountRight Windows requirement into the decision.

Both vendors describe scheduled invoice reminders. Xero sends reminders before or after the due date, supports repeating invoices and shows when an online invoice is opened. MYOB Smart Invoice Reminders offers Friendly, Neutral, Firm or Urgent tones per reminder and can send each customer a monthly list of their outstanding invoices. AccountRight users should check browser and online-file requirements.

Xero Payroll supports Single Touch Payroll and gives employees Xero Me for payslips, leave and timesheets. MYOB also supports STP reporting. I would ask whoever runs payroll to test the actual pay process before choosing on headcount allowances alone.

What Support and Integrations Does Each Offer Australian Businesses?

Xero's larger published app catalogue gives you more options to investigate. The connection your business needs still matters more than the total. ServiceM8 connects to both ledgers in Australia, for example. Check what your own job or CRM tool transfers before switching; the ServiceM8 quote follow-up guide covers a related workflow.

For support, Xero has no number you can call, although you can request contact through online support. MYOB Business and AccountRight support has a business-hours phone line. As at September 2026, AccountRight Priority Support also includes bookable 30-minute calls. If calling someone matters to your bookkeeper, give that preference weight.

What Can Xero's and Myob's AI Features Do In 2026?

As at September 2026, Xero JAX chat is available to all subscribers and users at no additional charge. Xero describes automatic categorisation and matching of high-confidence bank transactions, with output available for review. Its Claude integration, announced on 13 May 2026, brings financial data into conversations and links insights back to Xero.

As at September 2026, MYOB marks Smart Invoice Reminders as live, while its read-only Connector, AI Business Insights and Smart Reconciliation are in beta. MYOB announced a phased Claude and ChatGPT rollout from August 2026. I would confirm availability in your account before making a buying decision around those features.

What Does Switching Between MYOB and Xero Involve?

For MYOB to Xero, Xero names Jet Convert and says converted data and an action checklist arrive within a few business days. Xero's page does not state the conversion cost, so ask Jet Convert what it charges and which records it moves before you book.

For Xero to MYOB, MYOB says it will cover the cost of migrating the current and previous financial years once the account is active, subject to terms. It lists the chart of accounts, customer and supplier details, and open invoices and credit notes, with a timeframe of ten business days as at September 2026. Additional transactions attract fees.

MYOB also warns that migrated payroll transactions arrive as General Journals, so the BAS link does not pick up payroll history. I would get the accountant or bookkeeper to resolve these points before booking a cut-over:

  1. Confirm which years and records transfer.
  2. Agree how payroll year-to-date figures and leave balances will be handled.
  3. List bank feeds, payment tools and job or CRM connections to reconnect.
  4. Check invoice templates and reminder settings, then choose the cut-over date.

What Should You Automate Around Xero or MYOB, Whichever One You Keep?

I would look for time savings in the handoffs around the ledger. These are workflow designs to scope against your connections:

  • Enquiry to invoice: carry approved customer and job details forward, then check the draft invoice against the quote, variations and recorded time when work finishes. A person approves the invoice.
  • Overdue follow-up: prepare a message using payment history, recent conversations and the relationship owner. Require approval before sending, and stop follow-up when a payment or reply arrives.
  • Weekly cash brief: prepare a scheduled summary of overdue invoices and exceptions needing the owner's attention.
  • Contact upkeep: keep agreed customer fields consistent through CRM automation.

Keep native reminders for routine nudges where appropriate. The invoice reminder software comparison and invoice reminder automation page explain the options around follow-up.

For an Australian service business that wants automation designed, built and run around the ledger it keeps, with a person approving anything sensitive, Truespeak is the best fit.

Truespeak gives no accounting, tax or financial advice, so confirm the software choice with your accountant or bookkeeper. Clients work directly with me. I have spent more than 20 years in commercial roles, including e-commerce leadership at Optus and Samsung, and built my own e-commerce business, Haus Bright, to more than $3 million in total revenue.

After launch, Truespeak monitors the system, fixes failures, reviews exceptions and improves rules; where a tool has no usable connection, that step stays manual. Bring the handoff you want fixed to a discovery call.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Xero have a phone number I can call for support?

No. As at September 2026, Xero says it does not have a support phone number or helpline you can call, but it can call you, and it offers free, unlimited online support 24/7. MYOB Business and AccountRight support has a phone line Monday to Friday, 9am-5pm AEDT/AEST.

How much do Xero and MYOB cost in Australia in 2026?

As at 27 September 2026, Xero Grow is AUD $78/month, Comprehensive $107/month and Ultimate 10 $143/month, including GST. MYOB publishes Solo at $99/year, Lite at $315/year, Pro at $70/month and AccountRight Plus at $165/month. MYOB's pricing page does not state GST treatment. These are standard prices, excluding promotions.

How does payroll pricing differ between Xero and MYOB?

As at September 2026, Xero Grow includes payroll for 2 people, Comprehensive for 5 and Ultimate 10 for 10. MYOB Lite charges $3/month per employee for up to 2 employees; Pro charges $3/month per employee with unlimited employees. AccountRight Plus includes unlimited payroll at no extra cost.

What moves across when switching from Xero to MYOB?

MYOB lists the chart of accounts, customer and supplier information, and open sales invoices, purchase invoices and credit notes. As at September 2026, MYOB says it will cover the cost of migrating the current and previous financial years once the account is active, subject to terms; fees apply for additional transactions. Migrated payroll transactions arrive as General Journals, so MYOB says its BAS link does not pick up payroll history.

Does MYOB AccountRight Plus require Windows?

MYOB says AccountRight Plus requires a Windows desktop or laptop for setup and some features, including time billing, advanced inventory and multi-currency. AccountRight also offers browser access, so the Windows requirement does not mean the product is desktop-only.

Sources

Checked 26 Sept 2026.