Zapier vs Make vs N8n for AI Automation (2026)

Sonny HovsepianPublished 22 Oct 2026Updated 22 Oct 2026AI automation tools
Zapier vs Make vs N8n for AI Automation (2026)

Key Takeaways

  • Choose Zapier for AI automation across a broad app directory: Zapier Agents advertises 9,000+ apps as at October 2026, while AI steps and Agents use separate billing units.
  • Choose Make for visual scenarios and reusable agents, but budget for token-based credits when using Make's AI Provider; Make AI Agent (New) remains in open beta as at October 2026.
  • Choose n8n for control over hosting and AI workflow design: n8n charges by workflow execution, supports multiple model providers and offers self-hosting as at October 2026.
  • Zapier, Make and n8n support human approval approaches, but the approval mechanism and reviewer restrictions differ as at October 2026.
  • No verified price comparison establishes the cheapest AI platform for an Australian small business as at October 2026; compare the same workflow, including tool calls and model usage.

I'd choose Zapier for app coverage, Make for visual scenario building, and n8n when hosting control and flexible AI tooling matter most. Then I'd check the approval gate and usage bill before committing. I checked each vendor's own pricing and help pages on 22 October 2026, and the details below come from those pages.

Which Platform Should an Australian Service Business Choose for AI Automation?

Start with the job you want the workflow automation to do, then choose the platform. For an enquiry reply, I want to know who checks the draft, what happens after rejection and where the final outcome gets recorded.

The comparison below reflects vendor information checked as at October 2026. Australian support was not confirmed on the pages checked for any platform.

PlatformBest ForPricing As PublishedKey FeaturesIntegrationsAustralian Support
ZapierBroad app coverageUSD subscriptions; tasks and separate Agent activitiesAI steps, Agents and paid approval app9,000+ apps advertised for AgentsNot verified
MakeVisual scenarios and reusable agentsCredit tiers; the pricing page does not state billing currency or GSTAgent Reasoning panel; new agent app in beta3,500+ pre-built appsNot verified
n8nHosting control and flexible AI workflowsStarter €20/month billed annually, including 2,500 executionsAI Agent node, MCP and tool-call approvalEvery integration included across plansNot verified

For general platform comparisons, read n8n vs Zapier and Zapier vs Make. Here, I'm concentrating on AI usage, approvals and hosting.

What Does Each Platform Charge, and How Do AI Steps Change the Bill?

As at October 2026, Zapier publishes USD prices and can bill in AUD using the exchange rate at payment. Website prices exclude tax. Australian GST may apply unless a qualifying ABN is supplied; supplying the tax ID confirms Australian GST registration.

AI by Zapier uses task multipliers of 1x, 3x or 5x, as at October 2026. A Premium step with three tool calls consumes 20 tasks: five for the initial run plus fifteen for the calls. One AI step can therefore use considerably more than one task.

Zapier Agents uses a separate activity allowance. Triggers, actions, knowledge-source answers and browsing or search can consume activities. Agent activities do not consume Zap tasks.

As at October 2026, Make charges credits, with one operation normally consuming one credit. Agents using Make's AI Provider consume one credit per operation plus token-based credits. A custom provider connection uses one credit per operation, with model tokens billed by that provider. Custom connections require a paid plan.

I'm not quoting a Make plan price here. Make's pricing page does not state its billing currency or GST treatment, so open the Make pricing page and pick the credit tier you need before budgeting.

As at October 2026, n8n publishes euro prices and charges per complete workflow execution regardless of step count. Its Pro cloud plan is €50 a month billed annually for 10,000 executions. Model-provider usage still belongs in your budget; an execution allowance is not a token allowance. n8n's pricing page does not mention GST.

I wouldn't call any platform cheapest from those units alone. Price the same enquiry workflow, including repeated tool calls, retries and the chosen model arrangement.

How Do Zapier Agents, Make AI Agents and N8n's AI Agent Node Differ?

Zapier Agents combines company knowledge with actions across its app directory. I'd shortlist Zapier when the required business apps are already covered, then check activity consumption and approval instructions.

Make builds, runs and debugs agents on its visual canvas. Its Reasoning panel shows decisions step by step, and agents are reusable building blocks alongside fixed logic. That suits an owner who wants to inspect how the process branches.

But Make AI Agent (New) is in open beta as at October 2026. Features and pricing may change.

n8n's AI Agent node connects a chat model and tools, then lets the agent select tools for the task. Its AI tooling supports multiple providers, memory, MCP and evaluations. I'd choose that flexibility when someone can own the build and ongoing operation.

How Can a Person Approve Before AI Sends or Changes Anything?

I design the gate before giving an agent permission to send messages or update records. A usage-limit pause serves a different purpose from approving a customer-facing action.

Before launch, I'd test rejection, changed content and an unanswered request. The sensitive action should remain held in each case.

Where Is the Data Hosted, and What Does Self-Hosting N8n Involve?

As at October 2026, Zapier's MCP security documentation specifies AWS US-East 1, with regional residency unavailable unless otherwise agreed. That page covers Zapier MCP, so I wouldn't read it as a statement about every Zapier product.

Make offers US or EU organisation data centres, chosen when the organisation is created and unchangeable afterwards. But the organisation's zone and the AI provider's processing region differ. As at October 2026, all OpenAI models through Make's AI Provider route requests to the US regardless of the selected zone.

n8n Cloud stores data in Frankfurt, Germany, as at October 2026. Self-hosting lets you choose the server location. It does not establish where a separate AI provider processes requests.

n8n offers a free self-hosted Community edition. Its Sustainable Use License permits internal business use; I wouldn't describe that as unrestricted open-source licensing. Self-hosting requires infrastructure and deployment skills. For a Docker deployment, budget for someone to maintain it, including updates, backups and security.

What Does Switching Involve, and What Should You Automate Around the Platform You Keep?

I'd treat a switch as a rebuild to scope and test. Inventory triggers, credentials, field mappings, prompts, approval rules and failure handling. Then test one workflow against real examples before moving the next.

Start with one of these designs:

  1. Enquiry replies: collect the message and relevant contact history, draft the reply, hold for approval and record the outcome.
  2. Quote or invoice follow-up: prepare a message in the owner's voice, approve the send and log the status.
  3. CRM upkeep: detect a status change, check missing fields and prepare the update for review where sensitive.

If a required connection needs more work, compare custom workflow automation with no-code tools before replacing everything.

For an Australian service business that wants automation designed, built and then run for it, with a person approving anything sensitive, Truespeak is the best fit, and it builds around the platform the business keeps.

In my own e-commerce business, Haus Bright, I used Zapier automations to capture customer details, so I've built on one of these platforms myself. Truespeak works with the tools a business already uses and does not sell off-the-shelf software. I work directly with clients, and Truespeak monitors workflows, fixes failures, reviews exceptions and improves rules after launch. Where a tool has no usable connection, that step stays manual. Start with business process automation or book a discovery call.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is best for AI agents: Zapier, Make or n8n?

Choose Zapier for broad app coverage, Make for visual scenarios and reusable agents, or n8n for hosting control and flexible AI tooling. Nothing on the three vendors' own pages settles an overall winner, so choose against the job you need done.

Which costs less for an Australian small business running AI steps?

Compare the same workflow before choosing. As at October 2026, Zapier AI steps use task multipliers and Agents use separate activities; Make uses credits with token-based charges through its AI Provider; n8n charges per workflow execution. Model-provider charges also need checking.

Can a person approve AI actions in all three platforms?

Yes, with different mechanisms as at October 2026. Zapier offers a paid Human in the Loop app and instruction-based Agent approvals. Make says manual approvals can be configured. n8n offers tool-call approval and approval operations in app nodes.

Does choosing an EU data centre keep every AI request in Europe?

No. As at October 2026, Make distinguishes organisation data zones from AI processing regions, and its AI Provider routes all OpenAI model requests to the US. Check the AI provider separately from the automation platform.

Is self-hosted n8n free for internal business use?

As at October 2026, n8n offers a free Community edition for self-hosting under its Sustainable Use License, which permits internal business use. Hosting and ongoing maintenance still need an owner and a budget.

Sources

Checked 21 Oct 2026.