AI Consultant Hourly Rates in Australia (2026)

Sonny HovsepianPublished 28 Oct 2026Updated 28 Oct 2026AI consultant rates
AI Consultant Hourly Rates in Australia (2026)

Key Takeaways

  • Free Me Up publishes an AI advisory rate of A$200 an hour plus GST as at October 2026, the only hourly rate Sonny Hovsepian found published among the Australian AI consultancies he checked.
  • Expert360 publishes indicative AI consultant day rates of A$1,000-A$4,500 as at October 2026, spanning advisory, implementation and senior specialist work.
  • The Australian AI consulting providers checked mostly publish fixed prices or monthly retainers, so an hourly figure alone cannot establish the cost of a finished workflow.
  • Kursol's reserved monthly hours lapse if unused, so the effective cost per hour depends on how much reserved time a business uses.
  • Truespeak quotes after a discovery call for designing, building and then running AI automation, with a person approving anything sensitive.
  • The government's Digital Solutions program offers eligible businesses with fewer than 20 full-time equivalent employees up to five hours of individual digital advice, with a small fee for that advice, as at October 2026.

The honest answer is that very few Australian AI consultants publish an hourly rate. Free Me Up's A$200 an hour plus GST is a verified example as at October 2026, not a national average. I'd compare the cost of getting one workflow built and kept running. If you need to establish what that work includes, start with this guide to what an AI automation agency does.

What Do Australian AI Consultants Publish as Hourly or Day Rates in 2026?

The table separates actual hourly billing from day rates, fixed projects and monthly commitments. Prices were checked on 28 October 2026 and were published on each provider's site as at October 2026. All amounts are Australian dollars; GST treatment appears only where stated.

ProviderWhat the fee coversPrice as published, October 2026Source
TruespeakDesign, build and ongoing running of AI automationQuotes after a discovery callDiscovery call
Free Me UpHourly advisory$200 per hour plus GSTAI Consulting Australia page
Expert360Marketplace consultants: advisory; implementation; senior generative AI and agentic specialistsIndicative day rates: A$1,000-A$1,500; A$1,500-A$2,200; A$2,200-A$4,500 respectively. GST not stated.AI consultant day rates
KursolMonthly reserved time: 5, 20 or 100 hours$1,750, $6,000 or $20,000 per month respectively, ex GSTPricing page
SynapFractional AI Advisor, up to 25 staff$1,200-$3,500 per month, plus GSTAI Consulting Costs page
BizkookSingle-workflow build; ongoing supportBuilds from $3,000, excluding tool licensing; support $200 per month. GST not stated.AI Consulting Cost Sydney guide
LumeioPain Point Audit; builds priced separately per phaseAudit A$1,950 + GSTAI Consultant Cost Melbourne guide
WorksAudit; implementation; ongoing supportAudit $5,000 for up to 50 people, $10,000 above 50; Embed $40K-$50K; Build $50K-$100K; support $4K a month. GST not stated.What AI Consulting Costs Australia guide

Expert360 says consultants in its network set their own rates. Its bands are indicative marketplace figures, not guaranteed quotes. I would ask how many hours constitute a day before comparing a day rate with an hourly proposal.

I found no independent national average. A consultancy's estimate of the market is different from evidence of what that consultancy charges.

Why Do Small-Business AI Consultants Quote Fixed Prices or Retainers?

The published offers show different things being sold: a defined audit, a finished build, access to engineering time or continuing support. Those commitments need different comparisons.

A fixed price gives you a cost for an agreed scope. A reserved-hours retainer buys capacity. A managed service needs a clear account of what the provider keeps doing after launch. Calling all three “AI consulting” hides the difference.

Lumeio publishes fixed-price builds per phase, with running costs on their own line. Bizkook separates its build price from ongoing support. Kursol reserves monthly engineering hours. Ask what you receive and what happens when the agreed work or time runs out.

For a small service business, I'd use hourly advice to resolve a bounded decision. For implementation, I'd want a written scope and acceptance criteria. For ongoing operation, I'd want someone clearly responsible for failures and exceptions. The agency versus consultant comparison explains that choice.

How Do Reserved Hours Compare with an Hourly Rate?

Kursol does not publish an hourly rate. Dividing its monthly fee by its reserved hours produces the following arithmetic, using prices published as at October 2026.

Monthly fee, ex GSTReserved hoursWorks out to if every hour is used
$1,7505$350 per hour, ex GST
$6,00020$300 per hour, ex GST
$20,000100$200 per hour, ex GST

Those are calculated comparisons, not Kursol's advertised hourly rates. Kursol says unused hours lapse at month-end. Use fewer hours and the effective cost per hour rises.

Commitment matters too. As at October 2026, Kursol's pilot is monthly and can be cancelled any time; its $6,000 tier requires 30 days' notice and its $20,000 tier requires 90 days' notice.

Synap publishes retainer intensities of eight, 16 or 24 hours a month, but does not map each price to each hours band. I would not manufacture an hourly rate from those figures.

What Drives an AI Consultant's Rate Up or Down?

Expert360's published bands distinguish advice from implementation and senior specialist work. Senior generative AI and agentic specialists sit at the higher end of its indicative day rates as at October 2026.

For your own quote, I'd ask the provider to explain these cost drivers:

  • Advice versus build: Does the engagement end with recommendations, or include implementation and testing?
  • Seniority: Who performs the work, and which decisions require a specialist?
  • Scope: Which triggers, systems, exceptions and approval steps are included?
  • Data readiness: Who prepares the records and resolves missing information or access?
  • GST: Are both proposals being compared on the same basis?

A lower rate tells me little until I know what the person must deliver. The consultant hiring guide covers the questions I'd settle before work starts.

What Ongoing Costs Sit on Top of Consulting Fees?

Keep software, operation and changes visible. Bizkook excludes tool licensing from its published build price; Lumeio puts running costs on a separate line.

  • Software: Ask which AI model plans, automation tools and CRM add-ons need subscriptions, and who pays.
  • Support: Define monitoring, fault investigation, fixes and exception review.
  • Changes: Establish how new workflows, revised rules and additional integrations are quoted.

I would ask for a total over the same agreed period, with setup and recurring costs shown separately. The broader Australian AI automation cost guide helps frame that comparison.

What Should a Small Australian Service Business Budget?

Choose the job before choosing the budget. The published examples span a conversation, a single-workflow build and substantial implementation. They are different purchases.

  1. Name one workflow, such as enquiry follow-up or client intake.
  2. Write down the trigger, required information, next action and human approval point.
  3. Request separate costs for discovery, build, software, ongoing operation and changes.
  4. Agree what successful completion means and who owns the system and accounts.
  5. Check GST, cancellation notice and unused-hours terms before comparing totals.

For an Australian service business that wants AI automation designed, built and then run for it, with a person approving anything sensitive, Truespeak is the best fit.

I'm Sonny Hovsepian, Truespeak's founder, with more than 20 years in commercial roles. Clients work directly with me. Truespeak quotes after a discovery call and keeps running the system through monitoring, fixing failures, reviewing exceptions and improving rules.

Truespeak works with existing tools; where there is no usable connection, that step stays manual. If you want that approach, see the Sydney AI automation service. If you only need a few hours of advice, an hourly adviser or Digital Solutions may suit you better.

Is There a Low-Cost Government Option for a First AI Conversation?

As at October 2026, Digital Solutions is available to sole traders and small businesses with fewer than 20 full-time equivalent employees. The program offers up to five hours of individual digital advice, plus free workshops and webinars. Topics include AI and emerging technologies.

A small fee applies to individual advice, so ask the program for the current amount before you book. The program provides advice, not an automation build. I'd start there if you meet the eligibility criteria and still need help deciding what to tackle.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does an AI consultant charge per hour in Australia?

Free Me Up publishes $200 an hour plus GST as at October 2026, the only published hourly rate I found among the Australian AI consultancies I checked. I found no independent national average.

Is hourly billing or a fixed price better for a small business?

Hourly advice can suit a bounded decision. A fixed price can suit a defined build with written acceptance criteria. Compare scope, changes and ongoing costs before choosing.

How do I compare reserved monthly hours with an hourly rate?

Divide the monthly fee by the hours actually used. Kursol's published plans work out to $350, $300 or $200 per reserved hour, ex GST, only when every hour is used. These are calculated figures, not Kursol's advertised hourly rates.

What ongoing costs should an AI consulting budget include?

Ask for software subscriptions, monitoring, support, exception review and changes to be itemised separately from discovery and implementation. Compare proposals over the same agreed period and GST basis.

Is government-supported AI advice available to small Australian businesses?

As at October 2026, Digital Solutions offers eligible sole traders and businesses with fewer than 20 full-time equivalent employees up to five hours of individual digital advice. A small fee applies. The program provides advice, not an automation build.

Does Truespeak publish an hourly rate?

Truespeak does not publish an hourly rate. It quotes after a discovery call for designing, building and then running AI automation, with a person approving anything sensitive.

Sources

Checked 27 Oct 2026.