Leap vs Smokeball for Australian Law Firms (2026)

Sonny HovsepianPublished 11 Oct 2026Updated 11 Oct 2026LEAP vs Smokeball
Leap vs Smokeball for Australian Law Firms (2026)

Key Takeaways

  • Choose LEAP if your Australian law firm wants the bundled features: LEAP says Matter AI, LawY, AI Prompts, Generator and AutoTime are included in every subscription, with LawY coverage worth confirming for your matter types.
  • LEAP shows A$439 +GST per user per month on its investment page as at October 2026, while LEAP's separate product information says pricing depends on firm size and requirements.
  • Choose Smokeball if your Australian law firm wants a billing-only entry plan or a choice of feature tiers: as at October 2026, Smokeball's published monthly per-user prices start at $59 for Bill, $129 for Boost and $249 for Grow, excluding GST, with Prosper+ custom-priced.
  • Smokeball documents a Zapier integration, a REST API and webhooks, with API access requested through an account manager; LEAP directs firms to its Marketplace and mentions a managed API for Enterprise.
  • LEAP's data migration page publishes no migration price or timeframe as at October 2026, and Smokeball says migration services and costs are confirmed in the quote, so switching between LEAP and Smokeball needs a written scope and quote.

I'd choose LEAP when the firm expects to use the bundled features. I'd shortlist Smokeball when the firm wants to choose a narrower starting plan or connect surrounding tools through documented integration options. The decision turns on staff numbers, actual feature use and connection access. Start by identifying what your law firm should automate first, then price the software needed for that work.

Should a Small Australian Law Firm Choose Leap or Smokeball?

LEAP describes its audience as Australian law firms and conveyancing practices with 1-300 users. Smokeball describes its audience as sole practitioners, small law firms and growing legal teams. Both belong on a small firm's shortlist.

This comparison uses vendor information checked on 11 October 2026. I'd compare the following against the work your staff actually do.

ConsiderationLEAPSmokeball
Best forMy shortlist choice for a firm wanting the bundled features; LEAP targets 1-300 users.My shortlist choice for tier selection, including billing-only; Smokeball targets sole practitioners and growing teams.
Pricing as publishedA$439 +GST/user/month; optional By Lawyers A$79 +GST/user/month. LEAP also says pricing depends on firm size and requirements. Investment page; qualification.Bill from $59, Boost from $129, Grow from $249/user/month, excluding GST; Prosper+ custom. Australian site prices as at October 2026; confirm currency and billing term. Pricing.
Key featuresDocument automation, integrated forms and included AI tools. Features.Billing through to document automation, lead management and workflows, depending on plan. Plan contents.
IntegrationsMarketplace, Microsoft 365 and named accounting connections; ask about permitted API access. Marketplace; connections.Microsoft 365 integrations, documented Zapier app, REST API and webhooks by request. Microsoft integrations; Zapier; API.
Australian supportLiveChat and email; 8:30am-5:00pm AET weekdays. Offices in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane. Contact.Describes support as Australia-based; Sydney office and phone contact; no specific support hours are published on its contact page. Support description; contact.

What Do Leap and Smokeball Cost per User in Australia In 2026?

LEAP's investment page shows A$439 +GST per user per month and optional By Lawyers at A$79 +GST per user per month, as at October 2026. LEAP also says pricing depends on firm size and requirements. I'd ask for the applicable price, billing term and onboarding costs in writing.

Smokeball's Australian page publishes the three starting prices above, but does not specify monthly versus annual billing, as at October 2026. Bill covers billing, trust accounting and reporting; Boost adds browser-based matter management; Grow adds the desktop application and advanced document automation; Prosper+ adds lead management, custom workflows and firm reporting.

The same page shows Intake at $29 on Boost and $59 on Grow, and AutoTime at $39 on Grow, as at October 2026. Intake and AutoTime are included in Prosper+. The add-on price units are not stated, so confirm whether each charge applies per user or per firm. Archie AI appears on Boost, Grow and Prosper+ without a published price.

I wouldn't add those figures into a supposed like-for-like total yet. Ask Smokeball to quote the required tier, intake, time capture and AI together. Compare that written quote with LEAP's applicable bundle.

Which AI Features Come with Leap and Which with Smokeball?

LEAP includes Matter AI for questions and summaries grounded in the matter file, Generator for documents and correspondence, AI Prompts, LawY and AutoTime. LEAP also uses narrower wording about LawY for select matter types, so check which matters and lawyer verification services your subscription covers.

Smokeball's Archie drafts, reviews and answers questions within a matter, compares documents for conflicting terms and works in Word, Outlook and Smokeball. Smokeball says Archie is visible only to staff assigned to that matter. Both vendors name LawY for legal research, with lawyer verification options.

Smokeball AutoTime records activity across Word, Outlook and Smokeball, producing entries for review before invoicing. Its availability depends on the plan.

I'd test both with the same representative matter: summarise the file, draft correspondence and inspect the source material. Judge the checking required before a lawyer can use the output.

Where Is Leap Stronger and Where Is Smokeball Stronger?

LEAP's clearer proposition is the bundle: its AI tools are included, and its features page describes working through Word, Outlook, Excel and Teams. That suits a firm expecting to use those features regularly. I cover the detail in my guide to what LEAP includes.

Smokeball gives buyers more published plan choices and more visible documentation for connecting other tools. Its Zapier app lists triggers such as New Lead and New Matter, and actions such as Create Task and Upload File to a matter. Plan eligibility still needs confirmation, and Smokeball says it does not develop or manage the third-party solution.

LEAP directs buyers to its Marketplace and mentions a managed API for Enterprise. Ask what access your proposed plan allows before commissioning a connection.

What Does Switching Between Leap and Smokeball Involve?

LEAP describes secure data migration. Smokeball says migration depends on the source platform, data types and complexity, with costs confirmed in the quote. LEAP's migration page publishes no price or timeframe and does not name Smokeball as a source system, so get the scope and timeframe in writing from whichever vendor you are moving to.

I'd require these answers before agreeing to a cutover:

  1. Which matters, documents, emails and precedents transfer, and what stays in the old system?
  2. How will trust and office ledger balances be transferred and reconciled?
  3. What happens to unbilled time, outstanding invoices and work underway?
  4. Who checks the migrated records and approves the cutover?
  5. What training, migration charges and outgoing contract obligations apply?

How Do Actionstep and Clio Compare with Leap and Smokeball?

Actionstep publishes per-user pricing plus implementation fees, without dollar figures on its Australian pricing page as at October 2026. Builder, Capture, Trace and Acumen are listed as add-ons; Legal Accounting is marked available only in North America. Budget for implementation and ask about Australian accounting requirements. My Actionstep integration guide covers connection planning.

Clio has an Australian pricing page; check it directly, and ask Clio and Smokeball about trust accounting for your state and Australian forms.

What Can You Automate Around Leap or Smokeball Once You Have Chosen?

I'd examine four surrounding jobs: enquiry response, missing intake documents, unpaid invoice follow-up and partner reporting. First check what the chosen plan already handles, then design around the remaining manual work.

A proposed Smokeball workflow could use New Lead to prepare an acknowledgement and Create Task to assign follow-up. Deeper connections require requested API access. A LEAP design would depend on available Marketplace connections and authorised API access.

For an Australian law firm that wants automation designed, built and run around its chosen software, with a person approving anything sensitive, Truespeak is the best fit.

I ran Zapier automations in my own e-commerce business, Haus Bright, and I have since built 25 working productivity systems at Truespeak.

The workflows above are designs, not past projects. My method is to name the trigger, gather useful context, prepare the next action, protect the human approval step and record the outcome. Anything touching advice, money, trust funds or client relationships needs that approval. Where there is no usable connection, the step stays manual.

Truespeak keeps running systems after launch, monitoring failures, reviewing exceptions and improving rules. Read about AI automation for law firms and Truespeak's Sydney automation service, or start with a discovery call.

Frequently Asked Questions

Should my small Australian law firm choose LEAP or Smokeball?

Shortlist LEAP if you expect to use its bundled features and included AI tools. Shortlist Smokeball if you want a billing-only entry plan, tier selection or documented Zapier and API options. Compare written quotes covering the same requirements.

What do LEAP and Smokeball cost per user in Australia in 2026?

As at October 2026, LEAP shows A$439 +GST per user per month, while also saying pricing depends on firm size and requirements. Smokeball's Australian page shows Bill from $59, Boost from $129 and Grow from $249 per user per month, excluding GST; Prosper+ is custom-priced. Confirm billing terms and add-ons.

Which has better AI features for Australian lawyers?

Neither vendor's published information settles this, so test both. LEAP includes Matter AI, LawY, AI Prompts, Generator and AutoTime, subject to checking LawY coverage. Smokeball's Archie offers matter-based drafting, review and questions, but Smokeball's pricing page shows no price for Archie. Test both against representative work.

Can Smokeball connect to Zapier, and does LEAP have an API?

Smokeball documents Zapier, a REST API and webhooks; API access is requested through an account manager. Confirm plan eligibility. LEAP points to its Marketplace and mentions a managed API for Enterprise, so ask what access the proposed plan allows.

What does switching between LEAP and Smokeball cost?

LEAP's migration page publishes no price or timeframe as at October 2026, and Smokeball says migration costs are confirmed in the quote. Request a written scope covering transferred records, ledger reconciliation, billing underway, training, cutover checks and outgoing contract obligations.

What can I automate around LEAP or Smokeball?

Consider enquiry response, intake follow-up, unpaid invoice follow-up and partner reporting. Smokeball documents Zapier triggers and actions, with API access by request. LEAP connections depend on its Marketplace and whatever API access LEAP grants. A person approves anything sensitive; where there is no usable connection, the step stays manual.

Sources

Checked 10 Oct 2026.