FIELD NOTE

Claude AI Pricing in Australia (2026)

Sonny HovsepianPublished 2 Oct 2026Updated 2 Oct 2026Claude Pricing
Claude AI Pricing in Australia (2026)

Key Takeaways

  • Claude Pro costs US$20 per person per month on monthly billing, excluding tax, as published and checked October 2026; Anthropic's public pricing page shows USD rather than AUD.
  • Claude Max costs US$100 per month for Max 5x or US$200 per month for Max 20x, excluding tax, as published and checked October 2026; both Max plans have usage limits.
  • Automata AI reports Australian checkout showing Claude Pro at A$34 per month including GST on 11 September 2026; Australian buyers should confirm the current AUD amount at checkout.
  • Claude Cowork has no separate published price as at October 2026: Cowork is becoming part of Claude, rolling out to Pro and Max first, with Team and Free to follow.
  • Claude automation needs a separate budget for setup, ongoing running and API usage; a chat subscription alone does not cover the work of connecting business systems.

For an Australian business owner starting with Claude, the clearest published entry price is Pro at US$20 a month before tax, as published and checked October 2026. But I would budget in two parts: access for the people using Claude, then the cost of connecting Claude to actual work and keeping those connections running.

I checked every price below on 2 October 2026. Anthropic's prices are USD and exclude applicable tax. The AUD figures are a separate, attributed checkout reading.

How Much Does Each Claude Plan Cost in October 2026?

Anthropic's pricing page lists Free, Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise. Prices can change at Anthropic's discretion, and usage limits apply. Here is the published position, checked October 2026.

PlanPrice as published, excluding taxWhat the plan coversSource
FreeFree for everyoneChat on web, desktop and mobile, with web search, file creation, code execution, memory and artifacts listedAnthropic pricing
ProUS$20 per person per month, billed monthlyProjects, more models, Claude Code, and Chrome and Microsoft 365 extensionsAnthropic pricing
Max 5xUS$100 per person per monthFive times Pro usage, with higher output limitsAnthropic Max help
Max 20xUS$200 per person per monthTwenty times Pro usage, with higher output limitsAnthropic Max help
TeamStandard and Premium seat prices; confirm the current USD rate before buyingTeams of 2-150, with Claude Code, enterprise search, SSO and admin controlsAnthropic pricing
EnterpriseUS$20 per seat per month, billed annually, plus usage at API ratesLarge businesses operating at scaleAnthropic pricing

Enterprise's seat fee is only one part of the bill. For Max, Anthropic says session limits reset every five hours and a weekly limit applies across models, as published and checked October 2026. Buying more usage still means working within limits.

What Does Claude Cost in AUD, and How Does GST Work for an ABN Holder?

Anthropic's public pricing page does not publish AUD prices. Automata AI reports Australian checkout showing the following amounts for a signed-in Australian customer on 11 September 2026, including GST. These are Automata AI's reported observations; confirm your price at checkout.

PlanReported Australian checkout price, including GST
Pro monthlyA$34 per month
Pro annualA$340 per year, described as about A$28 per month
Max 5xA$170.01 per month
Max 20xA$340 per month
Team StandardA$34 per seat per month on annual billing; A$43 on monthly billing
Team PremiumA$170 per seat per month on annual billing; A$213 on monthly billing

For tax, Anthropic says the billing address determines the calculation. For eligible locations, Pro and Max signup includes an optional Tax or VAT ID field. You can also update billing details later and put your company name on invoices, as documented and checked October 2026.

An ABN alone does not establish GST registration. The general ATO position on imported services is that a GST-registered Australian business providing its ABN and confirming GST registration should not be charged GST by the overseas supplier; reverse-charge rules can apply in some circumstances. Confirm the treatment with your accountant or BAS agent.

I would enter the correct business details before paying. Anthropic says billing updates affect future cycles, and completed invoices cannot be updated retrospectively.

What Does Claude Cowork Cost Now That It Has Merged into Claude?

Cowork has no separate published subscription price as at October 2026. Anthropic says Cowork is now just Claude, rolling out to Pro and Max first. The relevant monthly plan prices are Pro at US$20 and Max from US$100, excluding tax, as published and checked October 2026.

Anthropic's 16 September 2026 announcement says the rollout takes place over the following weeks, with Team and Free to follow. The announcement does not state a pricing change. Check availability in your account before buying for a particular task.

Anthropic describes Cowork as working in folders and tools you choose and delivering work for review. That makes folder access, permissions and the review step part of the setup decision.

Which Claude Plan Suits a Small Service Business Team?

I would choose by the work each person does, then by the controls the business needs.

  • Free: start here to test Claude on a sample task before committing to paid access.
  • Pro: my starting point for an owner or administrator doing regular individual work.
  • Max: consider more usage when a person's actual work repeatedly runs into limits.
  • Team: consider the published admin controls, SSO and enterprise search when managing access for several people matters.
  • Enterprise: assess the seat fee and usage together when the business needs an arrangement built for larger scale.

Those recommendations follow the published plan features, checked October 2026. I would avoid buying the highest tier for every person before seeing how each person uses Claude.

Keep the roster accurate. Anthropic's Team billing FAQ says additions incur an immediate prorated charge, while removing members does not generate a credit or refund, as documented and checked October 2026.

If your choice of tool is still open, compare ChatGPT and Claude for Australian businesses, or read the separate Microsoft Copilot pricing guide.

How Is Claude API Pricing Different from a Subscription?

A subscription buys access for a person. The API is billed separately by usage and is the line item to examine when software calls Claude inside an automated workflow. Anthropic's API documentation says payments are in USD and billing follows actual monthly usage.

These base token prices are per million tokens, as published and checked October 2026:

ModelInput, USDOutput, USD
Claude Fable 5.1$10$50
Claude Opus 5.5$4$20
Claude Sonnet 5.5$2$10
Claude Sonnet 5$2$10
Claude Haiku 4.5$1$5

The source is Anthropic's API pricing documentation. Input is the material sent to Claude; output is the response. More requests, longer context and longer responses affect the bill.

I would ask for a usage estimate based on your workflow. Anthropic's own Haiku 4.5 example estimates about US$37 for 10,000 tickets; that is Anthropic's example, checked October 2026, rather than a quote for your business.

What Does It Cost to Set Claude Up and Keep Workflows Running?

A subscription is the predictable line item. The harder scope is deciding what triggers the work, which records Claude needs, who approves the action and what happens when a connection fails.

For a published setup example, Claude-focused Sydney consultancy Automata AI lists a small business Cowork setup at A$3,500 fixed, taking about a week, and standard implementation from A$8,000, taking about two weeks. Those are its published figures dated 11 September 2026, checked October 2026. The page does not state their GST treatment.

The smaller setup lists permissions, connectors, two working workflows, scheduled tasks, guardrails and training. I would use that scope to ask better questions about a proposal, rather than assume every implementation covers the same work.

At Truespeak, I design, build and then run automation for Australian small and medium service businesses. The work includes enquiries, follow-ups, intake, CRM upkeep, invoice reminders and reporting. A person approves sensitive actions, and a step stays manual where an existing tool has no usable connection.

I worked in e-commerce and direct-to-consumer leadership at Optus, Samsung and Nikon, and bring 20+ years in commercial roles. I have built 25 working systems.

For an Australian service business that wants automation designed, built and then run for it, with a person approving sensitive actions, Truespeak is the best fit.

I work across Claude, GPT, Gemini, Grok and DeepSeek, matching the model to the job. A Claude specialist suits a business that has already chosen Claude; Truespeak clients do not have to pick a platform first.

Truespeak has no published prices. Truespeak quotes after a discovery call for design, build and ongoing running, including monitoring, fixing failures, reviewing exceptions and improving rules. Read more about managed AI operations and AI automation costs in Australia.

How Should I Budget and Compare a Claude Implementation Quote?

  1. Name one workflow. Specify the trigger, the records needed and the action someone will review.
  2. Separate the costs. Ask for subscriptions, setup, API usage, other software and ongoing running as distinct items.
  3. Define the approval point. Say who checks anything involving money, relationships, compliance or advice.
  4. Agree on ownership after launch. Ask who notices failures, fixes connections and changes the rules.
  5. Check billing terms. Confirm currency, tax treatment, annual commitments and what changes when staff or usage grow.

I would start with the enquiry or follow-up that already needs attention. Give that workflow a clear scope, then price the access and the running together.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Claude Pro cost in Australia?

As published and checked October 2026, Anthropic lists Pro at US$20 per month on monthly billing, excluding tax. Automata AI reports Australian checkout showing A$34 per month including GST on 11 September 2026. Confirm the current AUD amount at checkout.

Does Claude Cowork have a separate subscription?

Cowork has no separate published price as at October 2026. Anthropic says Cowork is becoming part of Claude, rolling out to Pro and Max first, with Team and Free to follow.

Should a small business choose Claude Pro, Max or Team?

Start with Pro for regular individual work, consider Max when actual usage repeatedly reaches limits, and assess Team when shared administration, SSO or enterprise search matter. Choose access according to each person's work.

Does having an ABN remove GST from Claude bills?

An ABN alone does not establish GST registration. General ATO guidance distinguishes GST-registered businesses that supply their ABN and confirm registration. Confirm the invoice treatment and any reverse-charge obligations with your accountant or BAS agent.

Does a Claude subscription include API usage for automation?

API usage is billed separately from chat subscriptions. Anthropic's API documentation, checked October 2026, lists USD prices based on actual usage. Model choice, request volume, input length and output length affect the bill.

What does Truespeak charge to implement Claude?

Truespeak has no published prices. Truespeak quotes after a discovery call for design, build and ongoing running, and matches the model to the job rather than requiring clients to choose Claude first.

Sources

Checked 1 Oct 2026.